2020 Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women’s Empowerment

Deadline: Unspecified

The Martha Farrell Award for Excellence in Women’s Empowerment has been instituted to honour Dr. Farrell and her ideals. Launched in October 2016, it is a first-of-its-kind initiative to discover, recognise and honour mid-career individuals and committed institutions, which have made valuable contributions in the areas of women’s empowerment, gender equality or feminism in everyday life.





1. Most Promising Individual

A. Any professional of any gender, between 25 and 40 years of age, who is working in government, business, industry or civil society organizations in India.

B. The person has worked consistently for at least past five years to promote women’s empowerment or gender equality within the workplace, at home, in communities, in educational institutions, in society etc.

C. Innovative, practical and comprehensive approaches to social change promoting women’s empowerment or gender equality.

D. Personal example and role model who practices values of feminism in everyday life.


2. Best Organization for Gender Equality

A. Any organization, including government, business, industry, educational, health, media, unions, federations or civil society, registered in India or which is a department/center/campaign under a registered organization in India.

B. The organization has been actively implementing systems/procedures/practices/strategies to mainstream gender both externally and internally. Such efforts should not just be limited to programme implementation but have also been working towards creating a gender sensitive and gender equal environment within their own workplace.

C. Such efforts have been consistent for at least past five years.

D. Innovative, practical and comprehensive approaches to cultural and political change within the organization towards women’s empowerment or gender equality.




The annual Award is given in two categories with a prize money of INR 1,50,000 each:




Click here to apply

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *






2020 Mandela Washington Fellowship Reciprocal Exchange Program

University of Glasgow African Excellence Fee Waiver Scholarships 2019/2020